Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » The VOG Lifestyle » Video Games

Post Posted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:43 pm 
Orange Lounge Radio

For those of you who may not know, I've been in the process lately of learning about programming, 3D modeling, and game development. I've spent many hours educating myself and now I'd like to jump in and get my hands dirty, which brings me to...

LOKI'S 24 HOUR TOTAL NOOB GAME JAM!!!

LOKI'S 24 HOUR TOTAL NOOB GAME JAM is a self imposed challenge to attempt to create a game (my first game actually) within 24 hours. The game will be created in UNITY over the course of 24 non-consecutive hours since I can't set aside 24 hours in one sitting. The plan is to knock out an hour or two a day, streaming each session live as well as recording them to be uploaded to Youtube for those who miss the live stream. The game will be made mostly from scratch, with all of the game assets minus some external code libraries to speed up some of the process.

Then of course when I'm finished, whatever is created will be released to play.

VOICE YOUR OPINION...

During the process the viewers will be able to help shape the game via chat and user poll feedback.

OK, so before we begin I'd like to hear from you for what type of game you'd like to see created. Here's a couple examples I came up with. Each has a basic goal I'd like to achieve and what I will do if I have extra time.

#1 PROJECT: BATTLEFIELD 2600

A modern military combat game (FPS) as shown in stylized classic Atari visuals (simply poly, little textures, limited color pallet). Think 3D COMBAT with similar vehicles and detail as Battlefield 3. Since the scope is so large I will probably focus on creating a tank-focused demo with a destructible environment.

Project goals:

Local and online multiplayer
At least one tank type and one multiplayer map.
Destructible environment

Stretch goals:

More vehicle types
Out of vehicle combat
Enemy AI

#2 PROJECT: MOTOR COMBAT